INTO THE ICE (WT)

A Danish-German Co-Production with Hansen & Pedersen | In production | A film by Lars H. Ostenfeld

The ice harbors a secret about our future. When it melts it will have an all-important impact on life on Earth – and the ice itself can tell us how and when it will happen.

  • SYNOPSIS

    INTO THE ICE is a journey of discovery to the vast masses of ice that will change life throughout our planet, a documentary tale about science, nature and adventure — about the scientists, who have dedicated their lives to explore the secret of our future that the ice is harbouring. We follow the director as he accompanies three of the world’s leading glaciologists on pioneering scientific expeditions to the Greenland ice sheet.

    The cool, legendary Dorthe Dahl-Jensen, the sensitive, politically engaged Jason Box and the daring, fearless Alun Hubbard. They share the idea of ground truth, the idea that climate research cannot rely solely on satellite measurements and computer models. Scientists also have to be where the changes are happening, if they are to reach conclusive results. They are all working to collect new crucial data that can help us answer one of the key questions of our time:

    How fast is the ice melting? How quickly are sea levels rising?

    Director Lars Ostenfeld has always been fascinated by nature. He has spent his entire life observing, filming and communicating nature and natural science. He is, however, not the bravest man on Earth. Now, for the sake of his children and future generations, for the sake of the beautiful nature that he loves, he risks his life following top scientists into a landscape that is one of the wildest and most extreme in the world. Urged to learn more about the unpredictable processes of the ice. Lars doesn’t know much about ice climbing and ice screws, but he knows about cameras, lenses and depth of field, so this is what he brings: His camera.

  • CREDITS

    Director
    Lars Henrik Ostenfeld

    Producer
    Malene Flindt Pedersen

    Co-Producer
    Caspar Haarløv
    Stefan Kloos

    Author
    Caspar Haarløv

    Editor
    Marion Tuor

    Cinematography
    Lars Henrik Ostenfeld

    Production
    Hansen & Pedersen

    Co-Production
    Kloos & Co. Medien

  • SUPPORTED BY

    Lundbeckfonden
    Novo Nordisk Fonden

INTO THE ICE (AT)

Eine Dänisch-Deutsche Ko-Produktion mit Hansen & Pedersen | In Produktion | Ein Film von Lars H. Ostenfeld

Das Eis birgt ein Geheimnis über unsere Zukunft. Wenn es schmilzt, wird es einen entscheidenden Einfluss auf das Leben auf der Erde haben – und das Eis selbst kann uns sagen, wie und wann das geschehen wird.

  • SYNOPSIS

    INTO THE ICE ist eine Entdeckungsreise zu den riesigen Eismassen, die das Leben auf unserem Planeten verändern werden. Eine dokumentarische Geschichte über Wissenschaft, Natur und Abenteuer – über die Wissenschaftler, die ihr Leben der Erforschung des Geheimnisses unserer Zukunft, welche das Eis in sich birgt, gewidmet haben. Wir folgen dem Regisseur, wie er drei der weltweit führenden Gletscherforscher auf ihren bahnbrechenden wissenschaftlichen Expeditionen zum Inlandeis in Grönland begleitet.

    Die kühle, legendäre Dorthe Dahl-Jensen, der sensible, politisch engagierte Jason Box und der wagemutige, furchtlose Alun Hubbard. Sie teilen die Idee der “Ground Truth”, der Idee, dass sich die Klimaforschung nicht allein auf Satellitenmessungen und Computermodelle verlassen kann. Wissenschaftler müssen auch dort sein, wo die Veränderungen stattfinden, wenn sie zu schlüssigen Ergebnissen kommen wollen. Sie alle arbeiten daran, neue entscheidende Daten zu sammeln, die uns helfen können, eine der Schlüsselfragen unserer Zeit zu beantworten:

    Wie schnell schmilzt das Eis? Wie schnell steigt der Meeresspiegel?

    Regisseur Lars Ostenfeld war schon immer von der Natur fasziniert. Er hat sein ganzes Leben damit verbracht, die Natur und die Naturwissenschaft zu beobachten, zu filmen und zu kommunizieren. Er ist jedoch nicht der mutigste Mensch auf Erden. Jetzt, seinen Kindern und zukünftigen Generationen zuliebe, der schönen Natur zuliebe, die er liebt, riskiert er sein Leben und folgt Spitzenwissenschaftlern in eine Landschaft, die eine der wildesten und extremsten der Welt ist. Er hat das Verlangen, mehr über die unvorhersehbaren Prozesse des Eises zu erfahren. Lars weiß nicht viel über Eisklettern und Eisschrauben, aber er weiß einiges über Kameras, Objektive und Tiefenschärfe, und das ist es was er mitbringt: Seine Kamera.

  • CREDITS

    Regie
    Lars Henrik Ostenfeld

    Produzentin
    Malene Flindt Pedersen

    Ko-Produzenten
    Caspar Haarløv
    Stefan Kloos

    Autor
    Caspar Haarløv

    Editorin
    Marion Tuor

    Kamera
    Lars Henrik Ostenfeld

    Produktion
    Hansen & Pedersen

    Ko-Produktion
    Kloos & Co. Medien

  • FÖRDERUNGEN & PARTNER

    Lundbeckfonden
    Novo Nordisk Fonden