ALL INCLUSIVE (WT)

Documentary in development | A film by Thorsten Ernst, Tobias Lickes, Malte Nieschalk & Gordon Volk

We compete for inclusion, not for success.

  • SYNOPSIS

    Some barriers are hard to overcome, especially the barriers set up in our minds. ALL INCLUSIVE tells a story of those who try to tear down the barriers between people living with, and without disabilities, with the aim of creating real inclusion in our society.

    In the summer of 2023, around 7,000 people with intellectual disabilities from all over the world will meet in Berlin to participate in the Special Olympics World Games. When athletes take part in the Special Olympics competitions their goal is not to win, but to participate and forget about the barriers put up by society.

    The film follows five athletes, who practice to qualify and ultimately to participate in the World Games.

    Sports can have positive impact on the lives of athletes with disabilities, as well as on those close to them. The athletes gain higher self-esteem and better communication skills. They thrive through the challenge and find themselves performing better at their jobs and their private lives. But is this enough to achieve real inclusion? And do these efforts at inclusion carry on after the competition ends?

    ALL INCLUSIVE sets out to present the challenges people with intellectual disabilities face in our society and to show, that to overcome them we need more than just determination.

  • WRITERS

    Thorsten Ernst studied political sciences, philosophy and ethnology. He’s working as author and director since more than 11 years and created several documentaries and coverages for German public television. As head-author he manages the editorial work of the magazine TRACKS (arte) in Hamburg. His last TV documentary was the 90-minutes film AFRICA RISING in collaboration with Jean-Alexander Ntivyihabwa.

    Tobias Lickes is a freelance journalist and film author in Hamburg. He has an MA in political sciences, sociology and communication studies and has been mostly working for the NDR since 2010, usually for the editorial staff of the ENTWICKLUNGSLABOR FÜR DOKUMENTARISCHES ERZÄHLEN (development lab for documentary narration). This summer his film 7 TAGE – AUF DER SUCHE NACH HANS was released in which he is looking for traces of his grand uncle Hans in Belorussia who has been missing since the second world war.

    Malte Nieschalk is a D.o.P., author and owner of a film production company in Hamburg. He started to work in the camera department almost 20 years ago and was successfully trained as an audio-visual media designer at NDR. He is responsible for the cinematography of several reports, trailers, commercials and image films. Additionally, he films live broadcasts of concerts, tv shows and sport events.

    Gordon Volk is a D.o.P., author and owner of a film production company in Hamburg. He finished his training as a media designer at the NDR in 2003. During his training, he realized several short films as D.o.P. and author which were screened at several international festivals. After his training, Gordon Volk established himself as a freelance D.o.P. and is particularly responsible for the cinematography of several commercials and image films as well as for documentaries.

  • CREDITS

    Writers
    Thorsten Ernst, Tobias Lickes, Malte Nieschalk & Gordon Volk

    Directors
    Thorsten Ernst & Tobias Lickes

    Cinematography
    Malte Nieschalk & Gordon Volk

    Producer
    Stefan Kloos

    Line Producer
    Maria Shilik
    Bianca Laschalt

    Production
    Kloos & Co. Nord / Kloos & Co. Medien

    World Sales
    Rise and Shine World Sales

  • SUPPORTED BY

    Development supported by
    Creative Europe Programme – MEDIA of the European Union
    Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein

ALL INCLUSIVE (AT)

In Entwicklung | Ein Film von Thorsten Ernst, Tobias Lickes, Malte Nieschalk & Gordon Volk.

Wir kämpfen um Inklusion, nicht um Erfolg.

  • SYNOPSIS

    Manche Grenzen, sind schwer zu überwinden. Besonders jene in unseren Köpfen. ALL INCLUSIVE erzählt eine Geschichte über diejenigen, die versuchen, die Grenzen zwischen Menschen mit und ohne Beeinträchtigung niederzureißen, mit dem Ziel der echten Inklusion.

    Wenn Athleten an den Wettbewerben der Special Olympics teilnehmen, ist ihr eigentliches Ziel nicht der Sieg, sondern die Teilnahme an der Gesellschaft und das Überwinden dieser Grenzen. Fünf dieser Athleten aus der ganzen Welt trainieren und bereiten sich auf die Qualifikation sowie schließlich auf die Teilnahme an den Special Olympic Summer Games 2023 in Berlin vor.

    Sport und die damit verbundene Interaktion mit Menschen ohne Behinderungen haben einen starken Einfluss auf das persönliche Wachstum der Athleten, die an Special Olympics teilnehmen. Es zeigt sich in einem gestärkten Selbstwertgefühl, verbesserten Fähigkeiten zur Interaktion mit der Umgebung sowie einer gesteigerten Leistungsfähigkeit bei der Arbeit und im Privatleben. Aber reicht das aus, um sich den Traum von echter Inklusion zu erfüllen?

  • AUTOREN

    Thorsten Ernst studierte Politikwissenschaften, Philosophie und Ethnologie. Er arbeitet seit mehr als 11 Jahren als Autor und Regisseur und hat mehrere Dokumentarfilme und Reportagen für das öffentlich-rechtliche Fernsehen gedreht. Als Head-Autor leitet er die redaktionelle Arbeit des Magazins TRACKS (arte) in Hamburg. Seine letzte TV-Dokumentation war der 90-minütige Film AFRICA RISING in Zusammenarbeit mit Jean-Alexander Ntivyihabwa.

    Tobias Lickes ist freier Journalist und Filmautor in Hamburg. Er hat einen Magister-Abschluss in Politikwissenschaften, Soziologie und Kommunikationswissenschaften und ist seit 2010 überwiegend für den Norddeutschen Rundfunk tätig, meist für die Redaktion des ENTWICKLUNGSLABORS FÜR DOKUMENTARISCHES ERZÄHLEN. Lickes realisietre u.a. den 45-minütigen Film 7 TAGE… AUF DER SUCHE NACH HANS, in dem er sich in Weißrussland auf die Spuren seines seit dem 2. Weltkrieg verschollenen Großonkels Hans begibt.

    Malte Nieschalk ist D.o.P. und Autor. Er begann vor fast 20 Jahren mit der Kameraarbeit und absolvierte eine Ausbildung zum Mediengestalter beim NDR. Er ist für die Bildgestaltung von zahlreichen Reportagen, Trailern, Werbe- und Imagefilmen verantwortlich. Außerdem filmt er Live-Übertragungen von Konzerten, TV-Shows und Sportveranstaltungen.

    Gordon Volk ist Kameramann und Autor. 2003 schloss er eine Ausbildung zum Mediengestalter Bild/Ton beim Norddeutschen Rundfunk ab. Neben der Ausbildung realisierte er mehrere Kurzfilme als Kameramann und Autor, die auf zahlreichen internationalen Festivals gezeigt wurden. Nach der Ausbildung etablierte Gordon Volk sich als Kameramann auf dem freien Markt und zeigt sich insbesondere für die Bildgestaltung von Werbe- und Imagefilmen sowie für dokumentarische Formate verantwortlich. Er lebt in Hamburg.

  • CREDITS

    Buch
    Thorsten Ernst, Tobias Lickes, Malte Nieschalk & Gordon Volk

    Regie
    Thorsten Ernst & Tobias Lickes

    Kamera
    Malte Nieschalk & Gordon Volk

    Produzent
    Stefan Kloos

    Producer
    Maria Shilik
    Bianca Laschalt

    Produktion
    Kloos & Co. Nord / Kloos & Co. Medien

    World Sales
    Rise and Shine World Sales

  • FÖRDERUNGEN & PARTNER

    Entwicklung gefördert von:
    Creative Europe Programme – MEDIA of the European Union
    Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein